Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, let me start off by telling about myself. I'm 19, 5'9 160 ish. I'm going to be going to a b***** college in like 1 1/2 years and want a bike because I've always wanted one and to save gas for around campus. The college is in a rural area. I'm gonna say what every new squid says. I'm gonna get a 600 for my first bike. I've been riding my friends 250 (idk what kind but it looks like a street legal dirtbike) and I shifted, used throttle and rode comfortably on my first time. Not saying I'm a pro but I kinda impressed myself. I'm looking at a 2001-2006 f4i, gsxr 600 or r6. And I was just wondering what your thoughts were. And I know we can both argue I'm gonna die and ill say I'm gonna be safe. But neither will win. I'm payin for the bike, gear, insurance, msf instructional and defensive driving courses. But My parents won't talk til I have money in hand. I was just wanting your honest opinion on the bikes or if there's any others you would recommend. But I know the gsxr isn't one but I really like the headlights on both sides of the front (kinda like eyes) instead. Thanks..

·
NO LAG !!!
1,255 Posts
Buy a used 2008+ Kawasaki 250R. You can find them all day for $2- $3k. That will allow you to have dirt cheap insurance, learn to ride and then be able to sell the bike for what you paid. It's a safe win win. Don't take the path less traveled. It will be an easier learning curve. You have plenty of living ahead of you.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Based on what you've written, it looks like you've read enough on this forum to know exactly what people will say, and you already have convinced yourself that you're a special snowflake and all the usual advice doesn't apply to you.

But just to be certain:

1) a 600 supersport is not a good choice for a beginning rider.

2) a 600 supersport is not an economy vehicle.

But if you've already made up your mind, have fun and good luck.

·