Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in need of new tires. I caught a brass nail in the front last week and the back had over 7000 miles put on it last year. All of the local shops around here claim that I can't buy tires first and bring them in to be installed because its a "liability." I would think if I brought in my own tires I would save a little money (lowest quoted price for a pair of pilot powers + installation was $339) I've never bought tires before so I dont know if this is a normal thing or not. Any insight?

·
Registered
729 Posts
Complete BS. If this were true, mailorder stores like Tire Rack wouldn't exist, and they've been doing quite well for many years.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If you have a place to work on your bike, learn to do it yourself. You will save a ton of money. I've been changing tires for the past 5 years now.
I've thought about doing this but I've read that it can be a hassle and some of the equipment is expensive. Does it pay for itself in the long run?

·
Registered
9,277 Posts
from what I have gathered, the equipment needed can be bought or made for less than 150 bucks.

considering most shops have a "here, have some lipstick before we bend you over" policy on tire mounting, yeah, it'll pay for itself within probably 2 sets of tires.

·
Registered
8,142 Posts
I'd find another shop out of principle. They're being greedy and trying to take you for a fool.

Though, I second the notion to change your own tires. The first few times are a pain in the ass, but once you get the hang of it, it's not too bad.

·
Registered
250 Posts
A couple of tire spoons cost you 20-30 bucks if that and that's all you need.Street tires are real easy,dirt are harder but not a big deal really either.
Still have to go to a shop to get them balanced though-unless you have a stand and want to static bal them yourself.

·
Registered
495 Posts