Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
what's up bitches
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay, im a newbie but i've been following the forum for quite a while and know what to expect as a newbie and beginner biker. Basically, i just put in estimates and hypothetical #'s for the insurance quote to see how much it'll cost me APPROX. and guess what? Progressive Motorcycle Insurance gave me some bullshit quote about how 12months will cost $2587!!!!! WTF?! I quoted myself about 6 months ago and it was like 900/year.

This is what i put down for the quote: Im 18, live with parents (but i go to college), bike is garaged, i put the bikes as a 2001 Honda Cbr600F4i, took the MSF course and have motorcycle endorsement, put the highest deductible for collision and comprehensive, and HAD to put uninsured motorist insurance cause it's required for collision. I put down that I got one traffic violation (6 months ago, i got a speeding ticket for 76 in a 65, but took traffic school and got it cleared. I still put it down though), i also put down that i use this bike for pleasure, not work or schooll.... how the hell is the quote 2500 per year?? that's more than car insurance, WTF?! Any suggestions or advice on how to cut?

Right now, im registered to take the MSF course this thursday and im working full time this summer to raise about $4500 for a used 600cc bike and gear. I need collision cause i will be MAJORLY pissed WHEN (not if) i lie it down? Also, college calls for a lot of vandalism. :/ Any help is appreciated... i know a lot of experienced bikers here know what to do. Thanks

-David

EDIT (after talking to my dad) : I made the mistake of mentioning the traffic violation, but i wasn't supposed to put it down because it was cleared by Traffic School. Still need advice though. Thanks

·
Registered
318 Posts