Sport Bikes banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
1,553 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Where are the idle mixture screws on my carbs? They're on an 04 EX500...Keihin CVK's, I think they're 32mm carbs. It was set at the shop but now if I let it idle it will load up on fuel and stumble if I try to take off without revving it for a few seconds first. Also while I'm at it, are there any adjustment screws for upper-rpm fuel, or is that controlled by some other means?

I'm new to carbs...dealt with nothing but fuel injection for the past three years. So I understand EFI very well, but carburetors are foreign territory to me. Thanks all.

Oh and if anyone has a good website or any links to diagrams or schematics for these, it would be extremely helpful! None of the shops around here carry a Clymer's for this bike.

·
second chimp in space
3,344 Posts
Your idle screws are on the bottom of the engine side of the carb. You use a flat head screwdriver to turn them. Midrange rpm/throttle is controlled by the needles. You can raise/lower them, or replace with ones from a kit. Stock ones need to be replaced if you have filters/pipe. Full throttle is governed by the main jet. Put in a larger or smaller one to adjust. There may be a large overlap between the effects of the needle and main jet, so be aware when messing with those two. Any mc shop will order a manual for you.

·
Banned
1,553 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok thanks man. My only other question is, I'm assuming the idle mixture and idle set screws are separate right? My idle speed is good, but the mixture is very rich.

·
Registered
968 Posts
Each carb has a screw on the bottom. Unless you're carbs have been jetted you have to drill the cap off. Then take a screwdriver and do 1/4 turns on each one until you have it figured out. Pretty straight forward.

·
second chimp in space
3,344 Posts
HalfLiterBeater said: