Sport Bikes banner

How old is too old?

15K views 53 replies 47 participants last post by  poopdiq 
#1 ·
I will soon be 40 years old. I have been riding a cruiser for about 5 years and I am wanting to get into sportbikes and eventually get on the track. I am in good shape, eat well and work-out regularly. Am I too old to be getting into this sport? My wife thinks i'm crazy.

#2 ·
there is no such thing...

theres a guy on here or two that are in their sixties... so get on it, be careful and have fun!

#3 ·
dude, we got 60 plus yr old guys on this site riding some of the fastest production bikes ever built! so 40 is a drop in the bucket! it's all about having fun and being safe while doing it. so if you wanna do it, do it. you only live once.
if you can pick it up, ride it.

#5 ·
Go ahead and get a sport bike! I just got one last March I'm 58 and hadn't ridden for 30 years. Just take it easy and use common sense and you'll have a ball. Crazy me, I have been dealing on a 2006 Honda CBR1K. Haven't got one yet though.

Be safe on what ever you ride!!!
Joe

#8 ·
rsm said:
I will soon be 40 years old. I have been riding a cruiser for about 5 years and I am wanting to get into sportbikes and eventually get on the track. I am in good shape, eat well and work-out regularly. Am I too old to be getting into this sport? My wife thinks i'm crazy.
No way too old. Either you can do it or you can't. Depends on you.
I'm over 40; I have several friends in their 50's tearing it up a few in their 60's and yes, a couple in their 70's. Following them up a winding mountain road with their leathers and helmets on, you'd never guess their age. These guys are good and I think its sport riding that keeps them young inside.

If it's what you want, I only recommend you just start slow and develop your skills incrementally. Sport riding and cruiser riding is apples and oranges.

#9 ·
rsm said:
my age is posted with my FZ6. nope your not to old, have fun! :bitchslap KUN

#13 ·