Sport Bikes banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im a college student and im going to purchase a bike within the next 3 months. I want to get a ninja 250 just for commuting to school. I dont really care about looks since the body style hasnt changed since this year but how old is to old.... wat year should i look to buy?

·
A guy on a scruffy bike
15,367 Posts
im a college student and im going to purchase a bike within the next 3 months. I want to get a ninja 250 just for commuting to school. I dont really care about looks since the body style hasnt changed since this year but how old is to old.... wat year should i look to buy?
Condition is way more important than age. Look for one that has been maintained, and that hasn't spent too much time sitting unused. I have heard that the 250 motor doesn't last forever, so you probably want one with under 30,000 miles on it. The year of the bike doesn't matter.

PhilB

·
ALL weather rider
207 Posts
My first bike was a ninja 250. it was a 1997. I bought it in 99 :) paid $500 for it with 1300 miles on it....Search CL and be patient...a good deal will come to you :)

·
Part 3 begins
3,660 Posts
if youre buying it to commute you probably still wont save any money. If you want it go for it, but it has been rehashed many times that owning a motorcycle will almost NEVER save you any $

·
A guy on a scruffy bike
15,367 Posts
if youre buying it to commute you probably still wont save any money. If you want it go for it, but it has been rehashed many times that owning a motorcycle will almost NEVER save you any $
:rolleyes It's been rehashed many times that sometimes it will and sometimes it won't, depending on a LOT of different factors.

PhilB

·
Registered
121 Posts
I bought 2x 1984 Kawa GPZ550s put about 400 into one of them, and ended up selling the two of them for a total of 2200 bucks.