Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im no rocket scientist, and I dont know if you could even compare G's to a motorcycle. But if someone knows a little something.....how many G's could a 600-1k sportbike pull...whether that be accelerating out of a turn or flat out balls to the wall accleration in a straight line.

·
Registered
2,258 Posts
I doubt it's going to be overly impressive since it would just flip over or lose traction if the G's became overwhelming. Throw on a wheelie bar and the limits are greatly increased.

·
Registered
359 Posts
Maximum straight-line acceleration of a stock sportbike is about 1g, and the limit is the tendency to wheelie. That's why so much improvement is possible at the drag strip with an extended swingarm and lowered front end--longer and lower increases the wheelie limit.

Without suspension mods, engine improvements can't increase peak acceleration due to the wheelie limit. But they can increase acceleration at higher speeds, where a stock bike can't reach the wheelie limit.

·
Registered
860 Posts
It may not be that much but I dont think its really an accurate comparison of abilities vs 4 wheeled counterparts

·
Theres no I in threesome
6,118 Posts
A GSXR-1000 can do 0-100-0 in 10.7 seconds.
A Bugatti Veyron can do it in 9.9 seconds.

I think the acceleration/deceleration G forces can be pretty comperable.

·
Mediocre Strafer
9,137 Posts
Subliminal said:
I don't even want to begin thinking about that. Do we pull more G's slowing down, or do we pull more G's speeding up.
Peak, probably about the same. Sustained, slowing down. Virtually every bike out there can brake at the point of incipient lockup from their maximum speed to zero. None can accelerate at the point of incipient wheelspin from zero to their maximum speed.

KeS

·
Registered
3,811 Posts
More speeding up is my guess. There is more weight on the front of the bike, more acceleration before it starts to loop.

·
Registered