Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been riding for about 8 months and feel I have become pretty proficient on a bike and have an above average skill set but am still extremely weary of riding others bikes. I went to kawi demo days, and while I had a good time I was always nervous about wrecking a shiny new bike. When a friend wants me to ride their bike, I'll usually decline with the exception of a few select occasions. To the more experienced riders, did you ever have reservations about riding a bros bike and did it subside when you gained more confidence/experience?

·
Registered
936 Posts
I have as many reservations if not more than driving someone's car. I have done it out of necessity but I find it hard to relax on others bikes. In a few days I will be starting my 24th year riding (10-22).

·
A guy on a scruffy bike
15,367 Posts
I've never had a problem with it. When I started, my friends and I all had beat up scooters and garage sale bikes, and we swapped and traded and rode each other's bikes, and it just didn't matter. Later, I generally didn't let others ride my Heinkel, partly because they are rare in North America, and mostly because it is a hand-shift bike with a non-synchro gearbox at the ends of a 12-foot cable that runs from the transmission to the handlebars and back again -- it takes a fair bit of practice to shift it. By the time I started riding something that was worth anything, I had a few years experience, and felt fine with trying other stuff out. I love a good testride on something different; I've taken testrides on over 40 bikes in the last few years, just to see what they felt like, and what I might buy if something happened to my bike.

PhilB

·
Turbo nerd.
13,732 Posts
I don't really.

I like everything on my bikes just so. So unless someone sets their levers, shifters and pegs exactly like I do I have near uncontrollable urges to bust out tools and mess with things.

·
Registered