Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to street riding and will be picking up a new 05' Kawi Ninja 500R in a week or two. I'm from the Northeast (massachusetts to be exact) and was wondering how much of the year I'll have left to ride before it gets too cold? Thanks for any help you can offer!

:hshot

·
Light it up! Light it up!
1,459 Posts
i usually put my bike away sometime in November or October, but i'm in Indiana. you may need to do so earlier :dunno. i think last winter it got warm enough to ride a few days in December.

as long as your comfortable you can ride anytime. i think some people on here ride year around regardless of weather. the main thing you need to watch for riding in cold weather is cold tires. braking and acceleration become 'slippery' on cold tires, and with the weather being cooler than in the summer it will take your tires longer to warm up too.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
I'm from Mass. If there wasn't any snow, I would ride all year long. I would say until late october/early november. Most people like to say the Halloween runs are their last rides of the year but I don't like to rule out the idea of riding later than that. It will be 30 degrees out but you just have to bundle up. As long as you enjoy riding, the cold weather really won't bother you. You just have to remember it takes longer for your tires to heat-up.

·
Super Moderator
18,633 Posts
Florida...We ride almost every day of the year...The rain during the summer is the only thing that keeps the bike in the garage...Although I did get caught in a little shower today...Not by choice, I REALLY don't like riding in the rain...

·
Registered
912 Posts
All yeAR IN az

·
El A MC Rider
336 Posts
Gets a little nippy (65 degrees) in Los Angeles every now and then, but basically can ride all year except for the couple of days it rains.

·
I own license2ill
5,679 Posts
stephygee said: