Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the saddle, and have been spending the afternoons riding through the country, practicing. Unfortunately, I can only make it about 2 hours before my body is on fire. Of course, it's practice, so I'm moving around a lot more than most people commuting would be, but groin and neck pain are rather significant. I know my body will adjust with practice, but I was wondering how long our senior members can go on a bike for fun before they need to ice down their delicates.

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I think you're doing it wrong.

A typical east county "swing" for us in San Diego is maybe 250-300 miles. That's considered a comfortable day's sport ride with no particular pressing involved.

KeS
Wrong? Well I know any wrist or palm pain is "wrong" because you're not supposed to hold your weight up with your hands, but I don't know what I could be doing wrong to cause soreness in my inseam. I used to ride horses, and that was simply a reality until you got used to it. My toes were also slightly numb yesterday, since I was holding up most of my weight with the balls of my feet. And my neck just hurt all over.

·
Registered
2,234 Posts
I think you're doing it wrong. ;)

A typical east county "swing" for us in San Diego is maybe 250-300 miles. That's considered a comfortable day's backroad sport ride with no particular pressing involved. Slabbing - 5-600 miles.

KeS
I have to agree. 22yrs old and your body's "on fire" after only 2 hrs on a non-SS?? Another factor at play here, my friend.

·
Registered
15,272 Posts
I'm 47, overweight and out of shape.

I put in 6 am to 11 pm rides, with only gas and food stops

Man up!! You young'ens today............

you near Charlotte?

·
Habitual line-stepper
11,594 Posts