Sport Bikes banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
644 Posts
That looks like a really sweet bike!!! what year is it and how many miles does it have on it?

And i have no idea if thats a good bike for a newb.

·
Registered
277 Posts
I believe that is mid to late 80's...don't quote me on that though. And being a 500 and also an older bike, as long as its in good shape and runs well, should be good to go

·
Registered
584 Posts
I have an '88 VFR400R that is very similar that bike.

I am a no stranger to motorcycles but I'm a street bike newb and I LOVE my bike. Being a bit b***** and heavier than a 250 I don't get blown around on the expressway as much by trucks but its still very nimble. Good "middle of the road" bike for beginners I think. Just be sure to respect the power that V4 is going to make about 10k.

·
Registered
2,557 Posts
I started on one of those (in 1985). They kick ass. Nice find.

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
I think that would be a great starter bike! A buddy of mine has one, and it's a great combination of sporty and comfy. It has enough power to make it faster than most cars on the road, but you can rip the throttle without having to worry about the front end coming up hard.

·
BOOYAM
545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
cool! Yeah, it looks pretty interesting. I beleive the one for sale is an 84. I checked the specs, and it has around 65hp....not too much, but seems to be just enough.

·
Banned
1,141 Posts
I used to ride with a girl who owned one of those. Being very nice she let me take it for a spin.

It isn't slow. And it makes an awesome sound. The whole bikes exudes quality.

·
BOOYAM
545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
really? Interesting. Well, my first love is a Bandit 400...and I'm now looking at a used one in my area (went to check her out today...I love it!)...but this Interceptor seems interesting. It's cheaper, slightly faster, but most of all, it has a semi-fairing, and I DO plan to do more touring, than tooling around town. hhhmmmmmm

·