Sport Bikes banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never done this before and I started to do it a month or more ago and decided I must not know what i'm doing. I know I have to remove the top of the tripple tree. (what ever its called) its the pc that the two fork tubes run through. um i can see some allen head bolts that have it secured but even when they are removed it still doesnt just lift off. are there any other bolts im missing? something around the ignition maybe? I have to get this off so that my clip ons will slide off the fork tubes. anyone that knows PLEASE give me some detailed instruction. I'd be in your debt.

Thanks!
Chuck

·
Registered
475 Posts
You must turn the bars all the way to one side to remove the top yolk (triple tree), otherwise the ignition lock will foul on a headstock casting. Also, the stock clipons are bolted to the underside of the top yolk, so those bolts need to be removed as well.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
turn the bars? I can't see how this makes a difference. also there apears to be "possibly" two bolts on either side of the ignition switch area/guard. it looks like they might be bolts that are placed up into the sleeves of the guard from underneath. anyone with a 7R will notice this if they look. are these bolts? if so what size?

I know there are a some people with a lot of experience with taking these bikes apart. plz help out if you can.

·
Registered
132 Posts
What you have to do is turn the bars all the way to the right and the upper will lift off. You may have to use a flathead with a little prying but it will come off. In addition to the obvious pinch bolts there are two more underneath the triple that hold the clip-on in place. That's four bolts in all two on each side. I had to tighten up my head bearing.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Amish Marauder said:
turn the bars? I can't see how this makes a difference.