Sport Bikes banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Here's a HOW TO SPRAY PAINT YOUR BIKE

98K views 45 replies 28 participants last post by  ocbasbalburg 
#1 ·
A NOTE TO THOSE READING THIS THREAD....... AS A PROFESSIONAL I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE USE RATTLE CAN SPRAY PAINT TO PAINT ANYTHING LIKE BODYWORK. IN THIS TUTORIAL YOU WILL SEE A GREAT EFFORT TO PAINT THIS BIKE BUT IN THE END THE PAINT WILL NOT LAST AND WILL COST YOU WAY MORE IN THE LONG RUN THAN IT WOULD TO PAINT IT THE RIGHT WAY..........THANKS (HYBRID)

First off, we're still experiencing cloud cover so I cant get good sunlight pics.

For those that want to know how I did it here we go.
Things I purchased and prices:
  1. American Traditions Clear Plastic Primer - $3.97 x 2 cans
  2. American Traditions Gray Plastic Primer - $3.97 x 2 cans
  3. Rustoleum Cobalt Metallic Blue - $4.98 x 12 cans
  4. Dupli Color Gun Metal Gray - $4.98 x 3 cans
  5. Dupli Color Top Clear Coat - $4.98 x 8 cans
  6. Paint Remover- eats teh paint off - $4.97 x 2 cans "to much work"
  7. 150 Grit Sand Paper 3M - $1.98 x 1 pack of 5 sheets
  8. 240 Grit Sand Paper 3M - $1.98 x 1 pack of 5 sheets
  9. 320 the same
  10. 600 3M Imperial wetordry $1.98 x 1 pack of 5 sheets
  11. 800 3M Imperial wetordry $2.98 x 1 pack of 5 sheets
  12. 1000 3M Imperial wetordry $2.98 x 3 packs of 5 sheets
  13. 2000 3M Imperial wetordry $2.98 x 3 packs of 5 sheets
  14. Mothers Carbana Wax n restore $7.77 x 1 bottle
  15. Zymol car wax $13.98 x 1 bottle
  16. Bondo spot putty $3.98 x tube

I believe thats everything I bought.

• First I sprayed the tank with paint remover
  • Then I hosed it down, when I realized it was harsh and burned skin
  • Then I sanded every fairing, starting with 150 grit to remove that blasted clear coat
  • then I moved on to 240 to smoothen the surface down
  • from there I proceeded to apply the Clear primer, accept to the tail cause it was black so it got gray