Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody:

I'm a newbie to this board, but I've been voraciously reading all of your threads about the FZ6. I'm getting ready to move from a cruiser to a sport/naked bike and am completely torn between the FZ6 and the Kawasaki Z750S.

I think I really want the FZ6, but a few things about it concern me, and I was hoping you guys could alleviate my misgivings. Here they are:

1. The notchy transmission -- is this a big issue? I've owned two Kawasakis, and the transmissions on both have been silky smooth.

2. The clutch. One review I read (on mcnews.com) indicated that the FZ6's clutch overheats after a few jackrabbit starts, and that it takes a while to recover. The last thing I need is a burned-out clutch when I'm 100 miles from home on a deserted road.

3. Lack of low-end torque. In real world conditions, is this a big problem? And couldn't you compensate by revving the engine higher in a lower gear?

4. Engine vibration/buzziness. The mcnews review says there's a noticeable vibration at 6000-7500 rpm, which corresponds to typical cruising speeds of 69-85 mph. How noticeable is the vibration, and is it a problem for any of you?

5. Touchy throttle/fuel injection. Another review talked about how the touchy throttle and fuel injection systems often lead to jerky starts or stalls when moving off in first gear. Is this something that should concern me?

Any input you guys can provide would be appreciated. I REALLY like the FZ6, but reliability and smooth operation are big factors to me. If none of the issues I mentioned here are major concerns, then maybe I don't have to even worry about them.

Thanks!

·
Registered
127 Posts
I sat on the Z750 and found it to be too small, no room for my legs (34" inseam). So I didn't look into it any further. YMMV.