Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered lowering links and they should be here probly mid week (Wednesday) but then ill be leaving shortly thereafter..does anyone have a rear stand that i could borrow OR does anyone have a clue as to how you put em on? they cant be that hard at all looks like id have to take off the ferrings and use just a wrench doing one side at a time but it looks fairly simple ill be back next week so if anyone could help or has one that i could borrow and ill put em on next weekend (14th/15th) so then i can get riding normal again..and look like this guy >>:smilierr more new smilies! kick ass!anyone's help is appreciated! :lol

·
Registered
358 Posts
I dont know any of you as i am a aaa newbie. If you need a hand please give me a call and i will get you what you need. Do you need a spool stand or a paddle stand? I have them both. 414-397-8125.

·
That's factory, yo!
3,666 Posts
The lowering links replace the "dog bone" in the rear rising rate shock linkage... by decreasing the length of the linkage, the chassis of the motorcycle is moved relative to the suspension range.

Anyway, enough nerding... Likely, the link installs with just two bolts. Unfortunately, and I say this not being farmiliar with the suspension linkage of Yam's, to access the suspension linkage means you may have to remove the swingarm, in which case a rear stand will do fuckall ;-)
A friend removed his rear bodywork and tied the subframe up to the rafters when he replaced his rear bearings (similar procedure) and supported the bike with jack stands.
Anyway - if you can access the dog bone without removing the swingarm - you're in luck, since then you can tie the bike up and articulate the swingarm through it's range of motion (by hydraulic jack) in order to line up the linkage ends.
Does any of this make sense, or am I all wet?

Cheers,

Todd

·
Registered
177 Posts