Sport Bikes banner

HELP! 02 R1 Wrecked, Need Mechanic/Advice!

3K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  yzfkid 
#1 · (Edited)
Two weeks ago I wrecked my 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 when I hit loose gravel deep in a left turn causing the bike to slide on its left side about 15 feet through pavement then coming to rest 10 feet off to the roadside. This bike has means very much to me, and I’d like to get it fixed, but I need professional in-depth assistance in deciding if this is the best thing to do. I am not a mechanic.

The bike was deemed totaled by my insurance adjuster, so I have the option to buy back, or take the money and run (or, buy a new one…. maybe). After my buy back cost, my deductible, and including future titling processes and fees for salvage title stuff, I’ll be left with NO MORE THAN $3,000 to fix it up, and bring it right back up to where it was.

This is where you bike pros come in. Please do NOT reply UNLESS you can explain your statement.

Yes, I realize I can guy it back and sell it, but unless someone wants to buy it for $2,750 + then I probably won’t be interested. (Deductible + buy back). This bike was great.

My hope is to have someone give me some advice, or even (if they are so skilled) fix it up. I’ll be the first to admit that I do not know about buying parts, or fixing it up, I just ride the bike.

BIKE HISTORY:
• Second Owner
• Had ALL warranty services completed ON TIME (Since expired)
• Garage Kept
• Not a scratch on the bike! (until now)

FACTS ABOUT BIKE NOW:
• Will not start (only tried once, may be anything)
• Left side pretty much toasted
• They “said” it looks like the forks are slightly off. I didn’t notice it.
• A little leakage, which could be from being on side, or anything.
• Fairing, Paint, etc.