Sport Bikes banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, a warning, I'm a GPS noob, never used one, in fact, never even seen one. I know what they are and how they work, but I'm curious about exactly how feature rich GPS units are. For example:

Do GPS units show you a map (and roads) of the area you are currently in? If so, do they get those maps automaticcally or do you have to somehow upload them to the unit? Can you program a route into them, making it easier for you to travel by not having to mess around with a map so often?

I guess my questions really boil down to, what other features do these units off you aside from tracking your positional coordinates and your velocity?

Thanks in advance,
-Q

·
Registered
205 Posts
qualdoth said:
First off, a warning, I'm a GPS noob, never used one, in fact, never even seen one. I know what they are and how they work, but I'm curious about exactly how feature rich GPS units are. For example:

Do GPS units show you a map (and roads) of the area you are currently in? If so, do they get those maps automaticcally or do you have to somehow upload them to the unit? Can you program a route into them, making it easier for you to travel by not having to mess around with a map so often?

I guess my questions really boil down to, what other features do these units off you aside from tracking your positional coordinates and your velocity?

Thanks in advance,
-Q

www.garmin.com/mobile

www.magellangps.com

Do some research and you will find out all you need to know.

Skippy

·
Registered
70 Posts
GPS are nice when navigating Farm to Market Roads.