Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm a new rider (of sportbikes) I used to ride a 48cc scooter and way back when I was a kid, a 125cc Dirtbike.

Riding the dirtbike I used a clutch obviously, but I haven't rode one in forever so I started riding a 48cc scooter automatic. This messed up my clutch skills horribly.

I currently own a 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 650R It is also my first bike!

So here are some tips from a friendly newbie sport biker to future or others!

1.) People say start on 200's 250's etc. Honestly, the bike I have is my starter and it works like a charm. If you go higher, please do not try to go past 650 or even go into super sports for you're first bike. It's just complete idiotic for the moment no matter how badly you want your R1 or gixxer.

2.) LEARN YOUR CLUTCH!!! When riding take it slow, don't think (oh I'm going to go 100 down the freeway my first day) That will get you killed in a heartbeat. Learn the sweet spot of your new bikes clutch. Try to practice clutch takeoffs and such in a empty parking lot, once you have the hang of it try to speed up your momentum with the clutch on takeoffs at residential stop signs where there is minimal traffic.

3.) Stalling is your friend - Face the fact you WILL Stall, it's completely normal for even professionals on a brand new bike that they have not experienced yet to stall. This can be your opportunity to learn how to work the clutch, where the sweet spot is, and how to brake properly.