Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Love to ride, but now that I work constantly, I have no time to figure out what I need to do to keep my bike running well. I have an 02 F4i, which I bought last April and have had nothing done except had the oil changed twice at the dealer. I was going to take it back, but then I found out Honda recomends 7000 mile intervals for oil changes. But I read about biked for sale where guys change it every thousand miles. Should I be changing it more? I've also seen things about valve adjustments. Is this something I have to have done as well? What benefit does it give? I have everything done at the dealer. I'm mildly Mechanically inclined, but I dont trust myself to take apart and put together something I depend on at 100+ MPH. I've been riding for almost 4 years, but I never have a bike long enough to worry about any sort of repair or maintnance. What do I need to know? :dunno

·
Registered
498 Posts
Order an owner's manual from Honda for starters. Also pick up an aftermarket (Haynes/Clymer) manual. These will give you the service intervals and tell you about how to handle routine maintenance.

7000 mile interval oil change? I'd be impressed with that. Bikes are like cars usually. 3000 miles is the normal interval and that's what I would recommend. 1000 miles is just plain wrong.

Valve adjustments are periodic and the service manuals will tell you the interval. It does need to be done if you want your engine last. Intervals for valve adjustments vary but 15-25K miles is a typical range. If your bike has never had it done, it isn't a bad idea to do it if it has over 15000 miles on it. Getting the dealer to do it is somewhat pricey (one of the reasons I do it myself).

·
Superbike fan
871 Posts
Your owner's manual give you an idea of when you need to do certain maintanence.

The easy stuff that everyone should be able to do:
change the oil and filter
lube the chain