Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my front wheel is out of alignment with the handbars... its totally bugging me... ne idea how to fix this? its off by 15 degree... the bike goes straight, but the handle bar and wheel arent lined up...

bike is a 99 CBR f4

·
~ Master Technician ~
2,176 Posts
are the forks twisted or the clip-ons moved out of position?

·
Registered
64 Posts
If nothing is bent, and the forks are just tweeked in the clamps, you can loosen the top pinch bolts and the axle. Apply the front brake and push down on the front suspension a couple of times and retighten everything to spec. All should be well...
Jim

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
here is a pic.it was taken with handlebars straight as you can see the wheel is pointing outwars... also the wheel is not aligned with the fender... the fender does point straight.

doesnt look like anything is bent anywhere... but Im no mechanic maybe you guys could see more than I do...

Attachments

·
RESIDENT ASSHOLE
8,497 Posts
Ummm...... you cant "tweak" forks in modern sportbikes. If the forks really arent bent, the triple clamps are.

Are you the only owner or did you buy this used? I would seriously suspect the the forks are bent but if it isnt blowing seals the tubes might have been replaced and the clamps are tweaked.

Its something you dont want to ignore as it does represent a safety concern.

It doesnt matter how much you loosen the bolts and all that other magic, if its not straight its got to be bent somewhere.

·
Registered
304 Posts
Here's what could be bent:

forks (one side or both)
triple tree (upper or lower)
axle

·
RESIDENT ASSHOLE
8,497 Posts
Something is bent. Take it to a shop and have them figure it out. It could get semi spendy. Fork tubes are about 300 each and the clamps are about 4-500 for the set. Then of course you have diagnosis time and labor.

Sorry about that but good luck with it!

·
Registered
645 Posts