Sport Bikes banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What major things did you learn from Motocross that helped you when you made the transition to the street???

Besides all the stuff like how to use a clutch, I think the biggest thing that I carried over is me constantly looking around seeing what is around me. When I raced MX I was always looking who was next to me and what was in front of me. I would looked for a down rider or which line looked best and that is something that I think helps me keep it on 2 wheels when I went to the street.

·
SPODE in training
372 Posts
On top of making myself be aware of my surroundings, I learned throttle control and how NOT to panic in those hairy situations.

I also learned that a 2 stroke is not the best powerband to be learnin' wheelies on - I'll try AGAIN now that my R knee is OK and after I buy my knee braces :eek:nfloor

I'm still a newbie to the dirt (riding since Jan) and man, that YZ kicks my arse every time :mg Riding the gixxer is like taking a vacation, smooth and steady :headbang

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Carolyn said:
On top of making myself be aware of my surroundings, I learned throttle control and how NOT to panic in those hairy situations.

I also learned that a 2 stroke is not the best powerband to be learnin' wheelies on - I'll try AGAIN now that my R knee is OK and after I buy my knee braces :eek:nfloor

I'm still a newbie to the dirt (riding since Jan) and man, that YZ kicks my arse every time :mg Riding the gixxer is like taking a vacation, smooth and steady :headbang
everything you said is so true. That's cool you just got into MX, once your body gets completely used to it, it will not be so bad. I bet one of your biggest problems is arm pump but the more you ride the stronger you arms will get and it will happen less often.