Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I have little experience in this field and have done alot of searching on this subject and most of it is negative when it comes to DIY.I found alot of discouraging comments from people.The 1st time I tryed this I did what most people do sandpaper till my fingers were bloody then steel wool etc. very time consuming,did work well made for a shiney frame.I remembered a few years back when a friend showed me how to polish my rims just by using aircraft cleaner.I was at wal mart today (I hate that damn place) and I saw aircraft cleaner in the automotive section and I bought some came home and just for shits and giggles sprayed a small test area on the frame. after a few minutes the paint was falling off and was semi shiney I went straight for the mother and I be damed it was now looked like crome.Why the hell are we all sanding the hell out of our frames?I have a zx-7r are they just easier to do?Whats up?Give me some feed back.

·
Registered
489 Posts
I wonder if you can get it as nice and shiny with just the chemical as opposed to some elbow grease? All I know is polished frames are the biggest pain in the ass you will ever experience, and I am ready for something different. I take that back, actually. Polished swingarms are a b***** pain in the ass because they are harder to clean up, and more shit gets on them.

Anyway, looks nice so far. Be sure to post pics so we can see if it really is just as good. If so, I don't know why you would waste the time sanding.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I really dont know about polishing the frame yet.I have noticed around the welds the surface is ruffer where I guess they were trying to keep the weld clean.I still dont need to sand paper it

·
I own license2ill
5,679 Posts
Hams51 said:
That looks nice so far. Are you going to clearcoat over the polished parts?