Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, as i've read many many times - "there are those who have gone down and those that will." I have now hit the pavement.

I've been riding for 2 years now, about 19,000 miles of accident free riding and mostly back country corner carving.

I was going down River Rd in right after crossing the james river where there's a blind turn. Right after the apex of the turn there was a traffic jam and stopped cars. I was doing the speed limit oddly enough. I squeeze the front brake and she locks up, I let off a little and used both the front and back. Eventually i realized there was no way i was going to stop so i just locked the back and let it slide out from under me. There was no shoulder to go down and there was oncoming traffic. Rather than hitting the car I just bailed - it was the only choice.

I was wearing my leather jacket/gloves/helmt and jeans. I got up realized i was fine and picked the HEAVY ass bike up. A guy in the oncoming lane jumped out of his truck and helped me get it up. Everyone was asking if I needed an ambulance or anything but I was fine. Started it up eventually and rode it a few miles home with no front brake lever or shifter peg, just took it easy home.

Lessons learned.
1) Gear will save your ass
2) You'll prolly drop your bike due to circumstances outside of your control.
3) You will fall.
4) Fix the bike and learn from your mistakes and realize where certain situations arise.

I should have known that area backs up occasionally, but at 3pm? Who would have thought.

The bike needs the following: Left fairing, repaint front fairing and tail, shifter peg, brake lever, front turn signals.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Glad to hear your alright. I go to vcu...hate to see a local rider go down but glad your alright

·
Premium Member
20,922 Posts
Glad you're ok!
I did something similar right after I started riding several years ago. I locked up the