Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 199 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First Sportbike... Work at bike dealership

Hey guys, I have an opportunity to get either a Honda, Yamaha or a Kawasaki sportbike at cost. I was just recently promoted to Sales Manager at a motorcycle dealership. Now I have been riding continously since 2007 when I bought my first streetbike; a 2007 Yamaha V-Star 1300. I drilled out the factory airbox and put on some Vance & Hines Big Shots exhaust. It's pretty damn fast for a cruiser, although that's not what the intentions are for that bike.

I know the whole, start out small advice for a sportbike, but I have been riding pretty solid for the past 7 years, so I have developed a technique. Well a riding technique, not a sportbike technique. Everything screams at me to get a ZX-10R, but I think it's best to start out witha 600 since there is going to be a huge difference between my 75hp V-Star and a light SS. I also turn 28 next Tuesday on April 1st, so I am not one of those early 20 something year old kids that come in my dealership that I know who is just going to eat the pavement soon.

So I have the option of getting whatever I want at cost from my work.

R6
ZX-6R
CBR600RR

I personally love the look of the R6. It's the only bike that comes in a decent color to me. The CBR comes in black, but I already have a black bike & a black truck so I want something different. The Flat Grey R6 is just absolutely sexy. I LOVE that color. Unfortunately, I just sold that flat grey R6 to someone on Saturday.