Sport Bikes banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, I should explain the reason I'm even writing this up, as for most of you it will probably seem silly. Before I got my bike, and even after, I looked online for other people's impressions of what it was like to ride a 600 (and other bikes). It is a similar thing to wondering what it's like to ride in an exotic car (which I've also done :D). So I figure you only get one first impression of something, and maybe there's other people like me that are curious about it.

Anyways, my prior riding experience: Learned on my friend's new Ninja 250, bought my 03 Ninja 500. I've got about 2k miles logged on it so far, putting several hundred more on it each week. Basically, I'm still a newbie, but I'm trying to learn fast. My friend's bike is an 06 R6.

My immediate thoughts:
-Riding position is actually not terrible (I'm 6'0, 190). Seat is definitely stiffer and you are way more out front of the bike, but overall, not too bad. Tank is nice and high when you're in tuck. I can see how it could get uncomfortable after a while, but it really wasn't that bad. That opinion could change if I rode it for a few hours.

-Smooth. My Ninja, being a parallel twin, has quite a bit of vibration. Sitting on the R6 was a distinct change. Hardly any vibration at all.

-Getting moving. A bit more difficult than the Ninja, obviously. The throttle is several times more sensitive than I'm used to, and keeping the rpms steady to get moving took a little practice. Clutch had a different feel to it as well on takeoff, I wasn't able to feel it as much as the Ninja. Again, probably something you have to adjust to.

-Slow speed maneuvering. Didn't feel bad at all. The bike is a bit wider and a touch more cumbersome, but I felt fine moving around. Real tight moves might be trickier (at first), especially not being used to the clutch yet.