Sport Bikes banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now I know this question has been beaten to death because I've read many forums and other post on this topic. With that being said, Ive only read one that was the same situation that I'm in(but the guy was talking about starting on a litre bike). I'm 18, a full time student with a decent paying part time job (about $800 a month) and I'm interested in buying my first sport bike. I have some two wheel experience. Since I was about 13 I've ridden dirt with my friends mostly using their bikes. I got an 06 crf450 when I was 15 and tore up the trails near my house until a year ago when I sold it to help get my car. I also rode a Honda metropolitan 50cc scooter for about 4 months (friend let me borrow his while I was saving for a car). Now that I have a car I want to get a street bike. I've always been in love with the hobby and the community. It seems anybody on 4 wheels who doesn't know the joy about 2 wheeling it hates riders. I've had my eye on the cbr f4i for quite sometime. Now I know a 250cc is always recommended and I'm going to take the msf class so I'll have a chance to get a feel for one. But is the cbr f4i too much of a bike for somebody who has some seat time? I am open to any advice/tips.

Additional info:
• I always wear gear: Full face helmet, jacket, gloves at the minimum. I will never go without gear (seen my uncle get a bad case of road rash after going down at about 35 mph with no jacket).

•Thanks to scholarships my parents only have to pay a very small amount for college so that doesn't play a factor in anything.

•I do have friends who started out on 500s, and 600s (2 on cbr and ninja 500s, 2 on R6s an 1 on a zx6r) and they all have ridden dirt with me and think I'll be fine with a cbr f4i. But second opinions are always useful. Thanks for your time guys.

·
Banned
7,613 Posts