Sport Bikes banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Total noob right here, and some questions have probably been seen a million times, but here yeah. I am 250 lbs 16 years old and 5' 9". My expirience with any vehicle is like 4-5 years of riding atvs and dirtbikes 250-500cc and thats about it. I really liked riding dirtbikes and have been thinking about getting a sportbike (yes for looks and power) so,

1) I wanted to get a ninja 250, 300 or possibly 650 but am worried about if it will have enough power since im pretty fat and austin has a lot of hills, some that are pretty steep, which would be best for me? I would probably top speed it once on an empty road that is flat and I know well, not gunna lie, but I would for the most part keep it at lower rpms and stay in the speed limit because i want it (and me) to last

2) I don't really have the money to pay in full and have to pay for it 100% my money so am wondering how financing works for a bike, like how many months is normal? and what is usual %interest

3) Is Abs something that I should get as it would be my first street vehicle

4) is the boots leather jacket and gloves for looks or are they all actually important things to get?

5) any other things you think are important for me to know I guess, I really appreciate information, and please don't flame because it doesn't really help me

·
Registered
3,177 Posts
1. The 300 would be ok I would guess. Honestly a used 250 would be better.

2. Your 16 so use some self control and save the money that you would be using for payments. In a couple of months you would have the money to buy a used beat up 250.

3. ABS is not something I think you would even find on the choices listed unless you went new from the dealer and still might be a hard thing to find. No need to focus on that for your first bike.