Sport Bikes banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding motorcycles for a few years and I want my first sportbike. I've already test rode a 00' suzuki gsxr600 and I can handle them.

I am thinking about buying a 2002 GSX-R600 with 6,000 miles and a tid bit of rash on one side ("dropped while moving in garage") -nothing cracked. And the Rear Tire is almost worn out. front is fine. : He is asking for $4,500.
From Owner."not dealer".

How does the price sould? Should I bring him down to 4k or less? If I do buy his bike what should I look at before buying it to make sure there is no bad problems? Anything I should check while I test ride it?

Thank you for any replys. This would be my first bike I would be buying and ANY help is appreciated!! :)

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
ackgot said:
I've been riding motorcycles for a few years and I want my first sportbike. I've already test rode a 00' suzuki gsxr600 and I can handle them.
You think a ~5 mile test drive will tell you if you can handle a 600 or not? I'm telling you right now, as a new rider, you probably can't handle that 600. I say get a Suzuki GS500 or Ninja 500R, the Ninja is probably the best beginner sportbike out there. Take the MSF course, it will teach you skills that can save your life.

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
he's not a new rider, just new to sportbikes.

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
adamf2 said:
he's not a new rider, just new to sportbikes.
Well, when he says he's been riding, for all we know he could mean dirtbikes, and we all know just because you've been riding dirtbikes for 8 million years doesn't mean you can start on a SS. That's all I meant.

·
Registered
394 Posts