Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
4,653 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I have been lurking here for a few weeks or so in search of getting a bike. I am a total newb to motorcycles so I was looking for a ninja 250 come to find out with me being 6'4" riding the 250 would be a little rough. I was able to track down a 94 ninja 500 with 8400 miles on it. Few scratches here and there but nothing major. Missing the lower fairing, but I think I may have tracked one down on ebay for less than $100. I prolly wont actually start riding until the fall, due to the fact I have alot to do. I work full time and go to school at night part time. So in my spare 15 mins. I have a week I have to register this thing/turn in the title work. Get my license, and sign up for the MSF course which I have heard in the Raleigh area is all booked until august or later. So after that I have to paint the lower fairing, remove all current decals(they look weathered, but paint looks great) replace decals I am hoping to get from a guy online for $40, then clean the carbs. Hopefully I will have enough money to have the valvles adjusted on this thing cause I don't know when the last time it was done. Anyone know a good mechanic in Raleigh, or someone in Raleigh area that knows what they are doing that would do it for beer or cheap or help me do it?Well thats the story, I hope to get everything done by august or so, so I can start riding this thing, but it doesn't look like its it gonna happen. Oh and then clean the chain and make sure everything is in top notch order. Then it is time to ride.

·
Registered
4,927 Posts
Whats up man...good to have another EX'er on board. Mine is an 01 but looks like hell...but it gets me around. I have both manuals if you need to use them but haven't done the adjustment myself. Just keep posting up. :)

·
Back in Black
5,538 Posts
Congrats on the bike. Now, take some time off work, get everything taken care of, and ride it. :D