Sport Bikes banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im interested in buying a rc51

i have rode my sv650s for the last year and a half, and my brothers r6 for the last year. i dont really like the feel of the inline 4's and there is something about the shape of the rc51 that does it for me.

i'm just a student right now, but i just got a wicked job, 15/hr. I have already checked out insurance and figured out i will be able to afford it too.

the only questions i have are

what year is the best to buy?
i hear the 2000-2001 years arent that good compaired to the 2002 and up?
whats the comfort like?
hows the maintenance?
is the technology outdated as many say it is?
what do you feel are the best and worst features about the rc?

thanks for your time

·
Registered
133 Posts
1. 2002 and up are the newer model years.

2. 2000 -01 are a few pounds heaver than than 02+ yrs with a few less hp.

3. Not the best bike to tour on, but I love mine. The stock seat doesn't bother me much.

4. Maintenance, just change oil and tires and you should not have many problems.

5. Technology - some of the things maybe outdated like not having radial brakes or being as light as newer bikes.

6. Best features - its different from your everyday gsxr, yamaha, cbr. V-twin rumble, Torque, handles well for its weight. Worst - Gas mileage, I only get high/mid 20 mpg. Some say it runs too hot (220 most of the time).

Do I like mine? No, I love it.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Find yourself a nice RC..... Buy it. If it doesn't have pipes, powercomander and a 15 tooth front sprocket, buy those too.

If your not happy with that package, you can come over here and slap me.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Riding in-line fours for the last decade before switching to my RC51 I find there is nothing like that V Twin rumble. I giggle like a lil bitch every time I rev that thing up around my buddies' in-lines and they put their heads down in shame.