Sport Bikes banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I decided to change the coolant in my bike, an 04 gsxr 600. This is my first time changing the coolant on my own. I followed all the directions found in my bike manual. I noticed that after you refill the radiator with coolant a lot of people would let the bike run with the cap open and wait for the bubbles to stop popping up. Well after rocking my bike back and forth and refilling to the top of the radiator I started it up and let it run. However, I didn't see any bubbles coming up to the surface after running the bike for 5+ minutes. I thought maybe I got all the air out, so I capped it, let it heat up and cool down a few times, then filled the reservoir to the line and put the bike back together.

I just took it out for the first ride since the maintenance and kept my eye on the temp gauge, which seemed normal at first. Upon starting the bike I noticed a faint coolant smell which I attributed to spilled coolant burning off of the exhaust lines etc.. Took the bike out for about 30 min. The temp was hovering around 170-180 the first 15 min, which is normal this time of year (Ohio) so I stopped looking at the gauge. When I pulled into my drive I noticed a hot smell and looked at the temp gauge which was reading 220. My bike in the past may have gotten to 220 in the dead of summer while waiting in stop and go traffic, NEVER in March while riding steady for 30 min.

Bike smelled hot, temp gauge was rising 1 degree every few seconds so I shut her off and now here I am. Obviously I must have done something wrong with the coolant flush. It looks like maybe there is still some air in the system? Do I need to re-flush or just take the fairing off, do a little more rocking, and try the bleeding screw again? Or maybe I have b***** problems?

Any help is appreciated

· Registered
8,143 Posts