Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had an interesting learning experience last weekend and I would like some input on what I may or may not be doing wrong. First off let me say that I ride an 1999 R6 and I am 6'4" tall, 195lbs. I know I may be a little big for the bike but I love the damn thing. I have been riding for almost 5 years now. I live in KS so twisties are hard to come by around here but I recently took a vacation into the Ozark Mountains in Missouri and decided that I would load the bike up and take it along.

I know the back roads through much of the Mark Twain national forest and I knew they would be great for a sportbike. The roads have very little traffic, many curves and elevation changes. I knew of a great road about 25 miles long between Walnut Shade and Chadwick Missouri that had just been resurfaced last fall. (Highway "H" for anyone interested in a good ride)

I take off on a beautiful afternoon (Mid 80's and clear) and never did I feel like I was riding beyond my ability. I had 1/4" chicken strips on the back tire and I knew this would give me a chance to reduce them and improve my riding skill. I rode the the trip to Chadwick pretty hard and fast but well within my ability just to make sure the road was clear and there were no obstacles to contend with on the way back. I stopped for a drink just prior to heading back via the same route.