Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am curious if others crouch down over the tank when travelling at speed?

Here is my discovery ...

The boundary layer of the wind coming off the windscreen comes right to my neck. I suppose this is an ideal placement, cuz my helmet is in the quieter laminar air stream. If I bend down just abit, with my helmet in the turbulent zone, the buffet noise is deafening. But, what is it like below the boundary layer?

I started riding on the highways with my head below the turbulent layer. I lay my chest on the tank, my knees are braced against the tank, and my feet (balls of feet) are higher on the pegs. Here are my discoveries:

- Boy! is it ever quiet laying behind and under the windscreen.
- My regular mirrors are out of allignment for seeing rearward.
- The tank is slippery to grip with the knees.
- Steering is very responsive but graceful, cuz I now have no body weight
on the grips, and to steer I can end up pushing horizontally (better) with no ineffective downward force (useless).
- This alternate position helps ward off any body fatigue (but only if I alternate between laid down and upright positions, say each 15 minutes).

To improve the experience, I have added:

1) Secondary mirrors, permanently set for allignment for when I am laid over the tank. This gives me continuous view of any potential tailgaters. (I would never ride when I can't see behind me.) The mirrors were bought at a bicycle store.

2) Adding rubbery side kneed pads to the tank greatly increases the grip and comfort for my knees (just like horseback riding). The side pads are "BMW" product sold at the local motorcycle store.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,335 Posts
Laying on the tank is definitely comfortable for a while, but my neck tends to get sore/tired after a little bit. I have noticed though, that it really cleans up the air and makes the ride rather enjoyable.