Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 155 Posts

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an MSF Instructor here on base in Italy, and we teach to: "gear up for the ride, not for the crash." But I hate teaching it because I don't agree with it. I think it gives new riders a false sense of security and an excuse for not wearing proper gear. Maybe I'm not taking the quote the same way as others do. But personally, I gear up for the crash, because I know what's it like to have minor crashes, and what it's like to have major ones. Anyone wanna give me some input on this, maybe a fellow MSF instructor? Anyone though really.

·
Registered
317 Posts
i've always heard and supported "dress for the crash, not the ride" ...hmm...but you're correct, that sounds weird...

·
Sport Tourer
1,729 Posts
I agree. That sounds like you're going to some fashion show. Screw that. If I wanted to gear for the ride, I'm sure I could find something much nicer looking than a CE approved armored jacket, kevlar-enforced gloves and... Well, my helmet is pretty nice. But still. I wear my gear because when I do meet Ms. Sand and Mr. Asphault, I want to be dressed right.

·
Registered
317 Posts
...but my gear looks fresh too...so i guess i do dress for the ride! haha...

·
Registered
2,671 Posts
I've been a scuba instructor for 14 years, and disagree with the party line on certain issues. I teach that the training organization says X, "but let me tell you my thoughts on this subject." I specify that if they are quizzed on the issue, give the party line, but think about the issue for themselves and make up their own mind.

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah, I've been doing that myself. "They say dress for the ride right here in the book, from personal experience I am reccomending you dress for the crash as well"