Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As you can tell by my question I am rather new to motorcycles and I wanted to know what the difference between a low side and high side crash was.

·
Smiley Gladhands
3,050 Posts
In a lowside crash, the bike lays down and slides ahead of the rider. In a highside crash, the rider goes over the bike and falls in front of the bike and the bike slides behind the rider. Hope that helps a little. Maybe someone has a small video of each so you can see what I am mumbling about!

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
Low side: bike basically slides out from under and lies down fairly gently you normally go sliding right along with it

High Side: (this is going to be a very rough definition, not gonna get into detail) basically at some point the bike loses traction and regains it at the wrong time, throwing you off and over the bike. This can and does also happen with a tankslapper.

·
Registered
80 Posts
forgot what the msf told us... highside happens when u apply rear breaks during a skip and u reapply it again am i right?

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
Commonly highsides are a result of misused rear braking, but not the sole factor.

·
Registered
498 Posts
Watch MotoGP or an AMA motorcycle race. You'll usually get examples of both types of crashes in the course of a day. Or go to UpOnOne.com and check out the race and crash videos. You'll be able to find plenty of clips of both types of wrecks.