Sport Bikes banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
Let me start off by saying I'm a newbie and I'm addicted to this site and my bike. Anyways, I'm wondering what rider's average RPMs are when cruising. I'm not sure what gear to be in sometimes or what RPM range I should be in when cruising down the road. Is there a range that's best for the bike? What range do you usually cruise in? Thanks in advance for the tips!

·
Registered
6,267 Posts
BCal7 said:
Hello All,
Let me start off by saying I'm a newbie and I'm addicted to this site and my bike. Anyways, I'm wondering what rider's average RPMs are when cruising. I'm not sure what gear to be in sometimes or what RPM range I should be in when cruising down the road. Is there a range that's best for the bike? What range do you usually cruise in? Thanks in advance for the tips!

On open two or four lane roads a minimum of 7000 rpm in sixth gear is what I cruise at.

·
Registered
419 Posts
I usually ride in the range of 5k to 12.5k.......... I guess that aint much of a help.
Just make sure you stay aat least at 5k to maintain a good charge on your battery.

·
Registered
3,206 Posts
On regular steets (up around 75 km/h) I usually cruise around 5500 rpm in 4th gear.

On the highway, I'm around 7000 rpm in sixth - except when it sucks (which is a lot) then I'm stuck barely doing 2000 crawling around at like 15 km/h in first stop and go. Brutal. :)

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
I love to cruise at about 6k, but you will find crusing where you like it.

Thats the best part about this bike, from 4 to 7k, its docile, and higher its doing what you tell it to do, without question. Some like high revs, some like to go lower. You can do both.

·
Registered
227 Posts