Sport Bikes banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys , I'm a new rider and I'm taking the MSF in Sept . I've got a '93 EX500 . I spent some time on my driveway and on my cul de sac getting used to the clutch , brakes , etc. I took the bike out on some back roads yesterday and my question is should I be countersteering , or should I first learn to lean the bike by shifting my body weight . Also at what speed does counter steering no longer have the desired effect (10mph , 5 , 3) ? Thanks in advance , The Chimp

·
Registered
202 Posts
when you say "lean" their probley a 95% chance that your sub-conciesly counter-steering. You should use counter-steering, its not hard to get used to. Also, use whatever speed that feels natural to switch to counter-steering, think bicycle days. In my opinion, turning was the first thing on a bike that felt natural first when i started riding. Before the clutch, switching gears, looking through corners all becamse instict i found myself turning at all speeds naturally very easily, again, think bicycles, thats the reason im sure.

·
Registered
18,682 Posts
No, don't lean first and don't shift your weight at all for the next year or so. As you countersteer, you and your bike will lean. Focus on that for now. You can perfect your superbike style in a couple of years.

When you make upright turns at low speeds you aren't countersteering but this is the slowest of turns. Forget about it for now, you'll slow-steer properly by trial and error.

·
Registered
394 Posts
DANGER DANGER!!!