Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While I'm healing, I'd like to start compiling an Official SBN FZ6 FAQ. However, I need your help to come up with both the questions and the answers to questions. I'm far from an expert on this bike, but with all of our combined knowledge we are pros.

Please post questions and/or answers to your question or someone else's question. Once we start getting some good info, I can compile it into a nice FAQ format (and of course keep it updated!) :urowned

Rules
  • No subjective questions like "which exhaust is best" please. You could ask "Where could I find out more information about FZ6 exhausts" in which case the answer would be a link to The Exhaust Thread.
  • FZ6-related questions only. There are other FAQs on this site for other aspects of motorcycling
  • If you are answering a question, provide as much detail as possible
  • Please uniquely number your questions and answers so we know which question you are answering! (see example)
Here's an example:
Someone posts:
Q1: Is there an advantage to letting the fan run after the bike is shut down?
Someone else replies:
A1: No. The FZ6 is water-cooled, so the water pump (powered by the engine) needs to be running to circulate the cooled water. For more info see this thread: [thread link]
Got it? Let's do this! :banana

·
Registered
3,206 Posts
I think this is a great idea and I'll try to help in whatever way I can.

I forgot to mention, though, that it will have to be on another night.. :) zzz

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Q2: What is the top speed of a stock FZ6?
Q3: How often should the chain be lubed?
Q4: For the break-in period, the manual recommends <7k rpm for 600 miles, then an oil change, then <8.4k for 1000 miles. Is this the best or is there a better scheme?
Q5: Where can I find the FZ6 Service Manual?

A5: Crazymofo has it hosted on his website. Thanks crazy!

·
Respect My Authority!
574 Posts