Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
I can pass this guy...
8,167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The company I work has a new way to clock in and out for work. You enter you employee number and then a machine reads (and copies) your finger print.

Now, I do not work for the government. I do not work at some place where you need a security clearance. I work as a valet.

I do not agree with clocking in & out with your finger print. What's wrong with employee number + password?

The machine is securily mounted to a wall, but a hack saw and 5 minutes would change that. It's also on a pretty public area.

I just found out about this today when I showed up to work. And it has caused a bit of a battle. My boss isn't happy, but I just don't see why.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,660 Posts
Do they feel that the money spent on this technology will be less than what they estimate they are losing to fraudulent time keeping?

·
Registered
9,277 Posts
would not be OK with that.

·
Mediocre Strafer
9,137 Posts
Your fingerprint is already on millions and millions of different things in this world, some of them quite unsavory. The problem is not really that they are using your print as an identifier, the problem is that it's a poor authentication mechanism.

Your company probably did this because employees are somewhat less likely to lose their fingers than to forget their passwords.

If you are not comfortable using your own fingerprint, my company FakeFinger.com will be happy to sell you a silicone thumb with a random print lifted from a greasy beer glass in Tijuana. It is guaranteed to be unique as far as you know.

:)

KeS

·
Registered
9,277 Posts
:eek:nfloor

Reactions: kevin_stevens

·
Registered
1,871 Posts
Rather then have a key card hanging from a retractable key chain on his waist it will be a silicon thumb. That may be cause for some interesting conversation.

Sent from HTC Thunderbolt.

·
Registered
791 Posts
I just have a keycard where I work...