Sport Bikes banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys

Since I've been driving the ZZR600 E for almost 4 years now, I've thought of upgrading to the ZZR1100 D model from 1993-2001.
Particularly only the D model as I've read about the con rod bearing on the 3.rd cylinder on the older models, also some gearbox issues with the 2.nd gear.
I'm not the type that do wheelies, or anything related, only some acceleration from 2.nd and upward, never in the 1.st gear.

Are these problems solved with the D model, would it make any difference if I buy the first D model from 1993 compared to the latest year 2001 in terms of gearbox/con rod issues?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks a bunch

Rdgs,

Mario

·
Registered
13 Posts
Mate, I opened my email and found the notiofication from this website, I opened it and thought I traveled in time... I have 40 years of riding bikes on my record and I was "there" when these bikes were current and still see no reason to be stuck in time. There was never anything great about these bikes and trust me, any modern bike will give you something these are not capable of, UNLESS it's something very personal to you. Keep in mind as well that maintenance on such is way more difficult in regards of finding new parts, it will always be a question of history, considering 35 + years of age... If you're a collector and that would be the only missing bike in your collection, I would see a reason to get such, but otherwise, please do yourself a favor and make your life more enjoyable with a modern ride.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3