Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! Sorry, I know this is another "what am best bike" thread, but most of the threads I've found throughout the web deal with brand new riders, not riders with some experience. So I thought I would try asking! First paragraph, by the way, is about my riding experience. The question is after.

Anyway, I started riding about 3 years ago. Even though I had ridden a dirt bike when I was younger and technically knew HOW to ride, I took the MSF course and started small, getting an old 1982 KZ550 LTD (my dad had a 900 version and my mom a 440 back when they were in college, so it was a family recommendation, haha). Great way to start! The bike had enough pep to keep me happy at first and remind me that a bike can get away from you...without actually getting away from me. I was able to focus on the riding rather than "Oh my gosh, I'm gonna die..." Had my share of almost-wrecks, and was involved in one wreck a year ago that could have been extremely bad had I not reacted the way I did (luckily I didn't even hit the ground). So while I'm by no means an expert, I at least feel comfortable and confident on a bike, both in traffic and on the twisties.

So even though I love the KZ, I'm sort of "outgrowing" the engine. It's nice, but feels sluggish to me now. Also, I'm considering trying out the sportbike world to see what it's like! Now, I'm not a track day sort of guy, I don't dive hard into the curves or sprint on the interstate at 100mph. I like to accelerate...to the speedlimit, then chill out and cruise :p I'm also not looking to be laying on the tank. More aggressive than the KZ, yes, but not insane. Something like the newer Ninja 250 is good, or maybe something like a YZF600r (a bike I'm heavily considering). I use the bike to commute and such mostly, so I carry a backpack and such and would need something that can still be comfortable for that.