Sport Bikes banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.

So I just bought a bike recently and am obviously in the market for new gear. I've been riding dirt for over 6 years, but stepping up to street will be new for me. I just went to a CycleGear store and bought some stuff, but after reading the reviews on Bilt quality I decided to return most of it.

So now I'm looking for a new jacket and gloves that offer good protection and such for the money. I'm not a big guy, probably 5'7" 135 lbs. or so. Was just interested in the community's thoughts. I've heard some good things about ICON equipment, and Joe Rocket is about as name-brand as it gets. Thanks for any help!

Cheers :)

·
Registered
917 Posts
If you're lucky you can get your size on a closeout jacket. Just curious, why did you set your limit at $250? Most of the jackets in that range that aren't closeouts look like vintage jackets (at least on Revzilla). This AGV jacket looks pretty good if you want a perforated one, but you have to be willing to stretch up to $270 before tax (shipping is free on this site at that value).

edit: can't get the link to Revzilla to work due to brackets in the URL.

·
Registered
3,498 Posts
Hard to find good leather gear at those prices. Instead, look for good textile jackets. They are cheaper, and a good textile jacket is better than a cheap leather one. Textile jackets are usually more convertible, there are liners you can add or remove, vents you can open and close, and they are more waterproof.

I didn't get my first leather jacket until I had been riding a few years. I still wear textile in the winter.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

Reactions: Menotomy

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·