Sport Bikes banner

Beginner Bike

2K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  JMobile 
#1 ·
Hello all i'm new here and was looking for some advice i'm a 23 year old male in the Navy who will be going to hawaii as my next duty station so i'm looking to getting into riding and needed some advice on a first bike, i have zero riding experience and actually only driven a manual car once, so i was at some point debating between a 600 and a 300 however upon completing the Basic rider course i realized that i don't have the confidence or skills to start on a 600 even though peers are pressuring me to get a 600 and honestly its kind of intimidating to see a female start off on a 600 (i know quite a few) however i have decided to go with the 300 because living is more important than image to me if you are dead you have no image right also to really develop my skills, also i've heard that the 300s are loads of fun and thats why we ride right for the fun? My dilemma now is which bike to choose i've been looking at the ninja 300 yamaha r3 and cbr 300 i eventually want a cbr 600rr (if that matters when choosing a starter bike i'm not sure) even though as i learn to ride thats subject to change. Any advice as to which three of these starters are best for me? Also idk if it helps but i struggled with 1st gear in the basic rider course idk if one of these bikes is better for shifting etc all advice is however welcomed thanks.

#2 ·
OK, here we go again. Size is just something Marines argue about in the shower. Look at the horsepower for a first bike. 20 to 60 is a good range. 60 Hp in a 450Lb moto will allow you to outrun 75% of the cars on the road. You WILL wreck (drop) it. Wear gear. Hat (helmet) Boots and gloves are a must. A stout jacket, leather if you can afford it, and your pretty much set. I wear Kevlar pants too but that is just me and not really critical. Remember, the purpose of a 'learner bike' is to learn.