Sport Bikes banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
5,455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi i'm greg i'm 17 and i've been dreaming about getting a bike for a few years now but my parents aren't too thrilled. i finally got them to say i'm allowed to get a bike just not yet, so i'm wait till i turn 18. i don't have a drivers license yet (still on my permit cuz my mom doesn't want me to take my test yet, no real reason) but i'd consider myself a decent driver compared to most teens. i'm a straight A student, never drank/did drugs and i've never got hurt doing something stupid (cuz i don't usually do anything stupid). i told them i plan to get a Ninja 250, buy gear, take the MSF course, etc. i live in the city and ride my bike (the kind u pedal) on the streets so i know a little about not being seen by cars. i realize that motorcycling is dangerous and a lot different from my mountain bike (max speed 35mph; please don't bother giving me any sh^t about the bicycle) but is it reasonable to get a motorcycle with only 2 yrs driving experience, my dad's reasoning for saying no

thanx
greg

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
I would think most people here would agree that you should have more than 2 years experience driving before you start riding. However, I started riding before I even drove a car on the road. Sure, I've driven my bro's truck a few times when I was 14-15 years old but that was just around my neighborhood. It probably wasn't the smartest idea but it worked out for me.

·
Registered
11,370 Posts
I was in your position not too long ago. Im 17, been riding hardtail for a couple years, but always been given hints at what I should be riding through life. I know if every teenager had a motorcycle 95% of them would try to wheelie before they learned to turn. I wasnt one of them...So I convinced my parent that I deserved the opportunity, and set out to find a small bike to get.