Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, have a couple questions. To start I am 20. I started riding today with a '98 GSXR 600. I had my friend teach me a little, but basically started myself just riding around in a church parking lot down the street from me. Questions...........
1. When shifting, will it hurt if you release the throttle, shift, then get back on the throttle (easing into the gear). Or is it better to just keep on the throttle while shifting?

2. When going for left hand turns at lights (have a light by my house and wanted to try it, and its maybe got one car every 30 minutes going through it) if I would give a little more gas, it would turn a bit easier, but how much to give (or is it based on being comfortable)?

3. Around what RPM should I shift at for starting at? Been shifting with some confidence around 3-5k.

4. When going about 40-45mph, I am I fine with front braking only? Or should I get into the habit of starting to use some of the back break? Just because I seem to forget that I have the lever to use on my left foot.
Thanks for your replies if you wish too.

(Will also have to say, that its a lot more intimidating once you start puting around, compared to just watching someone do it. I have always been told that its good to have fear of the bike, because its like mother nature, it can bite you in the butt in a heart beat.)
Will be doing the MSF course once I get the money gathered up and get a freeweekend. Which also gets me to one last question, about how many hours is the course, day to day?

Sorry for the babbling.

·
#1 Gear Nazi
4,748 Posts
1) Try to do some rev-matching. For normal everyday riding let off the throttle, and then ease back on as you ease out the clutch. Goal is to be as smooth as possible.

2) You will notice the bike becomes more stable with more speed, it's all physics.

3)Shifting at 3-5k while learning is just fine.