Sport Bikes banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
1,553 Posts
I've heard about this a LOT.... It hasn't affected your midrange has you? I'm afraid to do mods to it because I'm not good with carbs...and changing the airbox too much will create flat spots in the powerband. But hell, if it helps and doesn't give problems.....I might just do that one today.

·
Registered
4,927 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I was kind of hesitant myself but figured I could glue a disk of plastic or something on the hole if it F'd up my bike. I don't really notice it affecting my midrange although there is a sometimes a lag between 4.5 and 6 depending on the weather.
But in the lower range it was kind of jerky before I did this, I have much better throttle control after the hole was drilled. I will recommend this with no problem on an otherwise stock bike. Took 10 minutes.

·
Banned
1,553 Posts
I just did mine over, but a tad differently. First off, the two rubber airhorns on the right side. The upper one, I left the 90 degree bend in, to better direct the air in the right direction. Right past the bend, I trimmed the excess off. The other airhorn, the straight one....I trimmed all the way down, to the edge against the airbox. But I left the outer spouts in, because they act as velocity stacks.

Then on the left side, I pulled the airbox cover off and instead of drilling the hole in the upper back, I drilled it in the beefy middle-section of it, giving the air a more straight-shot to the carburetor.

My review: Sounds AWESOME....has a growl, but not loud. A tuned growl..if I had to say it reminded me of ANY bike, it would be a Ducati. No joke.

Performance... I lost low-end. It's very SMOOTH down low, but there is a little less pull. Mid-range feels slightly stronger, and the top end feels very nice. Pulls to redline quickly, and has no problem staying up high.