Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so, i'm thinking of taking up a new hobby here soon...can anybody offer me any useful information as what to look for and what to realistically spend? i don't want anything fancy right now, just something basic to learn on so the guitar and amp don't need to be spectacular. and i'd like to learn to play some funky-slap-type bass too...so if that info helps, good. i've seen some bass and amp packages for around 150 or so...

also...what is the difference between 4 - 5 - 6 string bass guitars...are 4's easier to learn than 5's and so on or is that just an uneducated assumption?

thanks for any help.

hahaha, this smilie is fucking hilarious... :spank

·
Registered
206 Posts
Hey there. Im a drummer myself, BUT I did play bass for about a year. Never really got into it though. Anyway my brother plays bass.

The best bass guitar in that price range is the SX basses. Do a google search. I had one that looked like a Fender P Bass. Sounded damn close to one and better than the Mexican Fenders at less than half the price. They also have the Jazz Bass style. 4 string is traditional. A little easier to learn. From what I understand a 5 string gives you the ability to go a little lower. Octave wise. Again Im not an expert in the bass department.

I hope this helps. Sorry I dont have more info. Someone will be along shortly though with more info for you.

Oh yeah TRY drumming too. :) I had to.....

·
Registered
649 Posts
I play guitar, but have fooled around with several other instruments including bass. 4 string is much easier to learn than a 5 or 6 string, but likewise, there is much more that can be played on a 5 or 6 string. You can get just as funky with a 6 string bass as a 6 string guitar.

I hope you have friends that play too? A bass is not something you can sit around and play alone like a guitar, it gets real boring (at least to me).

·
Registered
101 Posts