Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, so first off, I don't want you thinking I am just some kid looking to get a really fast bike a squid all day long. I am 17 years old, 6 foot 1 and 150 lbs. I have been riding on dirt since I was 4 years old, so, 13.5 years this month. I ride a CRF250R and I am perfectly comfortable on it. I will jump 75 foot doubles no problem. I practice slow motion figure 8s and other maneuvers at least once a week.
Enough background, I want to get into riding on road surfaces. I am doing the MSF class in 3 weeks. I was looking at a CBR250R ABS model as a first bike, but... I don't fit on one. I tried a Ninja 250R and the story repeats. It was cramped and uncomfortable just to sit on in the showroom let alone ride. I tried a SV650 and a Ninja 650 but they didn't feel very good so I hopped on a CBR600RR for grins to see how it felt and it actually was much more comfortable to me. I have no desire to be that "young idiot" doing 150mph and popping wheelies. I don't do anything like that on my motocross bike. I own a Hyundai Genesis Coupe 3.8 Track model, no tickets, not infractions, nothing. I have had my license since the day I turned 16, permit on my 15th Birthday, and I had been driving around my parents farm for a year or two before that. I was wondering yall's thoughts on a 2009 CBR600RR ABS as a bike to start on? I plan to spend a good amount(as much as required to feel comfortable) of hours in an empty parking lot getting used to my bike, no matter what it turns out to be. Just looking for thoughts given my riding background and experience. I want a Shoei, alpinestar full boots, pants, gloves, jacket, every possible safety gear. Thanks for taking the time to read this oh so long winded post!

·
Registered
8,142 Posts