Sport Bikes banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok i really need some help here. i am new to this thread as a member so i apologize if i posted in the wrong thread. anyways i am currently looking at a bike on craigslist and its a 89 honda vtr250 interceptor. its priced at 1000. ive been talking to the guy selling it and it was dropped once before, "not while moving, just fell over" so it has a slightly bent clutch lever. he said for 1200 he would replace the fluids and the lever for me, i think il pass on that. anyways i need your guys' help to determine if its worth it or not. the only 2 things that im worried about is the mileage, which is about 27k, and he said the fan wont kick on so in summer it will get a little hot. i'm not too worried about that since the fan isn't too hard to diagnose. i guess my main concern is the mileage? is that too much for a 250? is this bike worth it? thanks in advance. here's the link if you're interested in checking out the pic and description.

1989 Honda VTR250 Interceptor

·
Introvert
329 Posts
As long as it's been properly maintained over the years, there's no reason a bike's engine can't last every bit as long as a car. There's a member here that has over 200,000 miles on an F4i and still going strong. I wouldn't worry about the mileage. It's only a grand anyway, you could probably get it down from that price even more.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
right on dude thanks. i know 27k isnt too high for the average bike, i was just a little concerned as im not familiar with 250cc bikes. didnt know the average life span of them. thanks

·
Registered
28 Posts