Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just started reading around here and I'm seeing a lot of people who seem to be very much against 600cc bikes as beginner bikes. So I figured I'd get some feedback from people. Is a 600cc bike a good beginner bike, and why or why not?

To give a bit of background here, I'm still a relative newb I guess. 4000 miles on my YZF 600 R. Coming up on 3 months of riding time. Took the MSF course, loved it. Spent damned near $1000 to get the best safety gear I could find and I wear it religiously. Wiped out once, low speed, on gravel.

When I finished the MSF on those nice 250's and went out bike shopping, I wanted to be safe and start with something small. Due to a number of intertwined and terribly boring details, I ended up buying the YZF brand new. Getting it home the first day, I damned near soiled myself. :) I live about 4 mins from the bike dealership, and I was sweating bullets the whole time. The amount of power on that bike compared to the nice 250's I was used to was downright disturbing.

But I can say that, having had it for a while, it has taught me to respect it. I got sloppy with the throttle a couple of times early on, and it immediately told me that I'm an insignificant little sh*t. But that made me respect it and bikes in general much more. I think my biggest concern is that, as a starting rider, you tend to be MUCH more cautious, almost to a fault. Your ego hasn't had a chance to take over yet. But once you've been riding for a while, that ego starts to catch up with you. And if you're putting around on a 250, and thinking you can control it perfectly, the moment you get onto a 600 you're going to be a danger to yourself and others, whereas the beginner who is still rightly afraid of it might not be.

But that's just my (undereducated) opinion. I would love to hear others' opinions on it though.

·
Dude, where is my bike?
255 Posts